Southern California = Heaven

I hadn’t been to Cali since I was 4, so it was about time this happened. Will’s wonderful brother and sister-in-law live about an hour from LA and an hour from San Diego in wine country, and all the pictures I took can’t begin to really show how beautiful it was there. But I’ll post some anyways. It was by far the best Fall Break I could have asked for — although it did rain for the first time since they had ever lived there (of course). It did create some snow for our hiking excursion which was awesome.

We drove down the Pacific Coast Highway to Santa Monica! Hung out on the pier and muscle beach.

IMG_8460 IMG_8453 IMG_8447

Up in the mountains was a place called “The Lookout” where you could stop and get some food and enjoy the view.IMG_8440

Sunset in San Diego

IMG_8427

La Jolla was lovely, and we saw sea lions!

IMG_8416 IMG_8414

We went to a couple different wineries; I think I was expecting Italian-like vineyards, but this was also a pleasant surprise. We got to enjoy lots of wine and each other’s company under the umbrellas. Shiraz is also my new favorite. I wish I would have written the post a lot sooner because I can’t remember the names of the wineries we went to, but there’s a long strip of them and it’s fabulous.

IMG_8408

I just took this out the car window at one point, it was so vast and picturesque looking at the moment, I’m sad it doesn’t translate very well into a photograph. I had never been to a desert so I had my mouth wide open in awe anytime we drove anywhere. Everyone just needs to go there and see how great it is for themselves.

IMG_8405

We enjoyed the snow at San Bernardino National Forest on a little hiking trip.IMG_8344IMG_8364 IMG_8360

Everything is pretty spread out and we did a lot of driving, but it’s so beautiful that you really can’t complain (unlike when driving on 95). I would love to go back someday and drive up the coast to Oregon.

Leave a comment